09:35:39 EST Tue 31 Jan 2023
Enter Symbol
or Name

Comcast Awards $69,000 In Scholarships To 60 Virginia High School Seniors

2017-05-19 09:14 ET - News Release

Annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program Recognizes Students' Leadership Skills, Academic Achievement and Commitment to Community Service

RICHMOND, Va., May 19, 2017 /PRNewswire/ -- The Comcast Foundation today announced the 2017 recipients of its annual Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Program awards in Virginia. The program, funded by the Comcast Foundation, recognizes the best and brightest high school seniors for their community service, academic performance and leadership skills.

"Congratulations to this year's scholarship winners for their outstanding achievements in both the classroom and their communities," said Governor Terry McAuliffe. "Education is essential to a brighter future for our students and for the economy they will enter after graduation. I thank Comcast for their commitment to education and look forward to the impact these winners will have for years to come."

Comcast, joined by Deputy Attorney General: Transportation, Real Estate & Construction Division for the Commonwealth of Virginia, Stephen A. Cobb and school administrators, recognized the students at a special event held Thursday, May 18, at the Virginia State Capitol. Fifty-nine recipients of the 2017 Virginia Leaders and Achievers® scholarships received $1,000 scholarships. Chrinique Christian, a senior at Matoaca High School in Chesterfield County was awarded a $10,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship – instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Comcast Corporation – for a total of $69,000 awarded this year to Virginia high school students.

"It is an honor to be a part of an event that celebrates such exceptional young adults," said Cobb.  "These high school seniors have proven to be leaders in their communities, and the Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship program is giving them the recognition they deserve. I look forward to following these students' successes in the years to come."

"Our Leaders and Achievers Scholarship winners are committed to academic excellence and community service," said Mary McLaughlin, Senior Vice President of Comcast's Beltway Region. "We are honored to recognize their achievements, and are excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys."

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides scholarships to students who strive to achieve their full potential, who are catalysts for positive change in their communities, who are involved in their schools, and who serve as models for their fellow students. The philosophy behind the program is to give young people every opportunity to prepare for the future and to engage them in their communities. The program also demonstrates the importance of civic involvement, and the value placed on civic involvement by the business community. 

Since 2003, Comcast has awarded nearly $800,000 in Leaders & Achievers Scholarships to more than 760 students in Virginia.  This year, the program will award more than $2 million in scholarships to more than 2,000 students across the country to help them pursue higher education.  Visit here to learn more.

2017 Comcast Leaders and Achievers® Scholarship Recipients from Virginia

Rachel Price of Bishop Ireton High School
Adele Reardon of St. Stephen's & St. Agnes School

Veronica Olivera of Arlington Mill High School Continuation Program

Augusta County
Brett Hostetler of Riverheads High School in Staunton

Kibiriti Majuto of Charlottesville High School

Chesterfield County
Shaquille Carmichael of Cosby High School in Midlothian
Chrinique Christian of Matoaca High School
Cana Clark of Thomas Dale High School in Chester
Isobel Harrison of Midlothian High School
Emilia Lizama Garay of Meadowbrook High School
Alexandria Markiewicz of Monacan High School
Eva Melendez of L.C. Bird High School
Vivian Tran of Manchester High School in Midlothian

Culpeper County
Brooke Bonfadini of Culpeper County High School

Amanda Liggon of George Washington High School

Dinwiddie County
Brooke Winn of Dinwiddie High School

De'Ja Mangrum of Greensville County High School

Fairfax County
Jenna Hirshfeld of South Lakes High School in Reston

Frederick County
Kristen Enns of James Wood High School in Winchester
Abigail Esslinger of Millbrook High School in Winchester
Mitchell Skowbo of Sherando High School in Stephens City

Hanover County
Zachary Berenson of Atlee High School in Mechanicsville
Mikayla Mason of Hanover High School in Mechanicsville

Genevieve Cowardin of Harrisonburg High School

Henrico County
Unity Bowling of Glendale Home School
Madison Bradley of Godwin High School
Pratyusha Chaluvadi of Henrico High School
Christopher Gothard of John Randolph Tucker High School
Sara Hamilton of Douglas S. Freeman High School
Clare Shupack of Deep Run High School in Glen Allen
Asia Farmer of Varina High School

Loudoun County
Jaden Edmonds of Broad Run High School in Ashburn
Ashley Jain of Freedom High School in South Riding
Lauren Moore of Loudoun County High School in Leesburg
Camille Nau of Briar Woods High School in Ashburn

Jonathan Bumgarner of Central Virginia Governor's School for Science and Technology
Jasmine Fuqua of Heritage High School
Catherine McCord of E. C. Glass High School

Manassas Park
Andrew Taylor of Manassas Park High School

Pittsylvania County 
Reid Brown of Chatham High School

Prince William County
Savannah Gaillard of Battlefield High School in Haymarket
Jordyn Harrell of Gar-Field High School in Woodbridge
Norman Jones of Stonewall Jackson High School in Manassas

Jovannah Alston of St. Catherines School
Akayla Anderson of John Marshall High School
Jonae' Crump of Richmond Community High School
Andrea Culotta of St. Gertrude High School
Andrea Eichenberger of Trinity Episcopal School
Jonathan Essex of St. Christopher's School
Autumn High of Open High School
Jasmine Jones of Franklin Military Academy
Demetrice Morgan of Armstrong High School
Le'Tyra Roberson of Huguenot High School
Harish Tekriwal of Maggie L. Walker Governor's School
Evan Tunstall of Hermitage High School

Megan Whitney of Roanoke Valley Christian Schools

Ashlyn Pugh of Salem High School

Spotsylvania County
Lindsay Stynes of Massaponax High School in Fredericksburg

Stafford County
Caroline Posillico of Mountain View High School

Rebecca Pereles of Waynesboro High School

About Comcast Corporation
Comcast Corporation (Nasdaq: CMCSA) is a global media and technology company with two primary businesses, Comcast Cable and NBCUniversal. Comcast Cable is one of the nation's largest video, high-speed internet, and phone providers to residential customers under the XFINITY brand, and also provides these services to businesses. It also provides wireless and security and automation services to residential customers under the XFINITY brand. NBCUniversal operates news, entertainment and sports cable networks, the NBC and Telemundo broadcast networks, television production operations, television station groups, Universal Pictures and Universal Parks and Resorts. Visit www.comcastcorporation.com for more information.  

About the Comcast Foundation
The Comcast Foundation was founded by Comcast Corporation in June 1999 to provide charitable support to qualified non-profit organizations. The Foundation primarily invests in programs intended to have a positive, sustainable impact on their communities. The Foundation has three community investment priorities—promoting service, expanding digital literacy, and building tomorrow's leaders. Since its inception, the Comcast Foundation has donated nearly $200 million to organizations in the communities nationwide that Comcast serves. More information about the Foundation and its programs is available at www.comcast.com/community.

© 2023 Canjex Publishing Ltd. All rights reserved.